adjusting as I go, baking, muffins, new recipe

First post – Muffins!

I used to bake a LOT. Since moving to a larger city nearly 4 years ago (what? what??), I’ve baked less and less. Tonight, I felt “bakey”. So I did.

The kids and I picked up these salted caramel chips at the grocery store the other day, and I wanted to do something with them. Ah-ha! Muffins. With apples. So I dug around on the internet to find a recipe. I came up with this one from OffbeatandInspired

IMG_3838
Right away, I didn’t have applesauce. I also saw that these may be slightly dry, and I doubled the recipe (my kids are pre-teen and teenaged – 12 muffins won’t go far).
Original ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups Vanilla Spice Applesauce – the chunkier the better! (or 1 1/2 cups chopped apples + 1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract) I grated two apples, and added some vanilla
I used the sea salt caramel chips

As I mixed everything up, I was sure that it needed more moisture. So I added about 1/2 cup of milk to the doubled ingredients. I also decided to only bake these for 23 minutes. Ah-mazing.

IMG_3839

Leave a Reply

