adjusting as I go, frugal eats, main dishes, new recipe, salad, vegetables

Spiralized Vegetables

I love spiralizing vegetables (is that even a word? eh, it is now). I first discovered them from a local food truck that made vegan dishes. Spiralized yellow and green zucchini noodles, raw, made for an amazing lunch! I was inspired to make my own.

I like having lower carb, vegetable dishes as part of our meals, and finding new ways to add vegetables is a big win. Trying out different options to see what options work is always a fun (or frustrating) activity.

One blog where I find lots of great ideas is Inspiralized.com She has some amazing recipes – both simple, and more elaborate dishes too. Even if you don’t have a spiralizer, some stores are now selling pre-cut vegetables in spiralized/noodle form. But why buy them when you can make your own for way less?

Tonight, I made http://inspiralized.com/thai-zucchini-noodles/ Well, mostly. I made some adjustments, based on what we had on hand. No red cabbage in the house, no peanuts, no onion. So I increased the carrots (which I also spiralized). The sauce was delicious, the carrots were a bit…too crunchy. Might need a thinner blade next time. I loved it, can’t wait to have the leftovers tomorrow.

Aren’t these zucchini and carrots gorgeous? Love that fresh crunch.

 

1 thought on “Spiralized Vegetables”

Leave a Reply

