adjusting as I go, baking, cooking with kids, muffins, new recipe, Uncategorized

Back in my kitchen

I just spent a couple of days in the post-Easter haze on a mini-getaway with my husband. You know, Easter, where my husband has lots of work, and I hosted a dinner for 12, aaah, relaxing. HA!

Anyhow, we had such a great break from real life, work, kids, and cooking. We had some amazing meals out, plenty of wine, and LOTS of great conversations. However, I’m always glad to get back to my house, and my own kitchen. Does that make me a grown up?

I’ve had lots of creative meals going on since I got home, and pre-Easter, but tonight, my youngest asked if we could bake. So we did.

Cheddar, ham and bacon muffins. I started with this recipe. Since I don’t like onions, we skipped that, and added a bit of oil instead of the onion/butter combo. Then we added some bacon with the ham. We also doubled the recipe. Tip! If you are baking with a kid, doubling or halving a recipe is a GREAT way to get them to practice fractions.

Best part? Youngest is now cleaning the dishes, AND my kids all have a good lunch lined up for tomorrow.

IMG_3919.JPG

Leave a Reply

